North American Snowsports Journalists Association Announces Awards

By AlpineZone News |
Apr 02 2014 - 11:05 AM

Bob Gillen JonLundin-5KILLINGTON, Vt. — The North American Snowsports Journalists Association (NASJA) honored four member journalists with Harold S. Hirsch Awards for Excellence in Snowsports Journalism. Awards were also presented to four outstanding snowsports and media professionals and the North American snowsports competitor of the year.

The awards were presented at Killington Resort in Vermont during NASJA’s annual meeting on March 27, 2014.

Among those recognized was New York State Olympic Regional Development Authority (ORDA) director of communications Jon Lundin. Lundin won this year’s Bob Gillen Memorial Award.

Described as “the consummate professional,” Lundin juggles responsibilities at multiple snow sports venues in New York State including Whiteface, Gore, and Belleayre Mountains; as well as the Olympic Center, the Olympic Jumping Complex and Olympic Sports Complex, all of which are in Lake Placid.

Each of the award winners spoke about how much they enjoy what they do and Lundin shared the same message.

While thanking those who nominated and voted for him, he also expressed his passion for winter sports, Lake Placid and the Adirondacks. He went on to say that this is what drives him every day and that he appreciates the opportunity to share it with the media and all of the visitors who come to ORDA’s venues.

“I was raised in Lake Placid, but as a youth, I didn’t appreciate the opportunities that surrounded me,” Lundin explained. “It took me moving away, and then returning to realize how special this place and the people really are. I can’t think of any other place I would rather be or any other job I would rather be doing.”

The Gillen Award is named in honor of a former Ski Magazine editor and resort marketing professional. It honors an individual who exemplifies the highest standards of professionalism in public relations and media communications.

Established in 1963, NASJA is North America’s largest association of professional snowsports writers, authors, photographers, videographers, broadcasters and industry professionals. The association boasts more than 185 snowsports journalists and over 50 corporate members.

The Harold S. Hirsch Award Winners included:

  • In the category of Columns, Marty Basch, a New Hampshire based outdoor adventure columnist won the Hirsch award.
  • Tom Winter, of Vail, Colo., took home two Hirsch Awards, one for Feature Writing and one for Photography.
  • In the Video Category Gerald Pallor, of New Paltz, N.Y., was the winner.
  • Kristen Lummis, Grand Junction, Colo., was the recipient of the Harold Hirsch Award for Blogs

Created to promote professionalism in winter sports coverage, the Harold S. Hirsch Awards recognize creativity and excellence in editorial and artistic content in both traditional and web based journalism.

Open to NASJA press members only, Hirsch award categories include columns, feature writing, blogs, photography, and video. Judging was done by a panel of judges with the highest credentials in the fields of journalism, writing, education, snowsports and photography.

The 2013 Harold S. Hirsch Awards were generously sponsored by K2 Skis and Smith Optics.

In addition to these journalism awards, NASJA honored the following people:

  • Michael Berry, President, National Ski Areas Association (NSAA) won the Carson White Golden Quill Award.
  • Raelene Davis, Vice-President of Marketing for Ski Utah, won the Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • The U.S. ski team’s Mikaela Shiffrin won the Paul Robbins Competitor of the Year Award.
  • Finally, Ted Heck, editor and publisher of the Blue Book of European Ski Resorts, won the Mitch Kaplan Award.

Photo Courtesy: Peter Hines/NASJA