Lake Placid Awarded Division I Ski NCAA Championships 2015

By AlpineZone News |
Dec 13 2013 - 12:56 PM

whitefaceCANTON, N. Y. — The NCAA has awarded the Division I Ski NCAA Championships to the Lake Placid, N.Y. region for the 2014-18 seasons.

Lake Placid, Wilmington, St. Lawrence University, the New York State Olympic Regional Development Authority (ORDA) and the New York Ski Educational Foundation (NYSEF) all will host the following championships:

Division I Ski NCAA Championships / March 11-14, 2015

“When you look at the list of cities and venues that will host our championships, there is no doubt the experiences across divisions and sports will likely be the best in NCAA history,” said Mark Lewis, NCAA executive vice president of championships and alliances. “The process was extremely thorough and allowed the sport committees to have some tremendous options, which will ultimately provide our student-athletes, coaches and fans the best experience possible.”

“ORDA and in particular Whiteface Mountain and the Olympic Sports Complex at Mt Van Hoevenberg are just thrilled to bring the NCAA Championships back,” remarked ORDA president/CEO Ted Blazer. “I have no doubt that we will provide the competitors with world class facilities and experienced event administration making this Championship one to remember”

“We are thrilled to have received these events to showcase the University and North Country to student-athletes from across the country,” added St. Lawrence director of athletics Margie Strait. “The facilities in Lake Placid and our very own Merrick-Pinkard Track at Leckonby Stadium should provide the competitors and fans with an excellent experience in 2015.”

The new NCAA championship bid process creates the largest host site announcement ever, spanning 82 championships across a four-year cycle. Previously, selection announcements varied by sport. This process now gives the NCAA and host sites more time to plan each championship experience.

Bidding for 82 of 89 NCAA championships began in July and 1,984 bid applications were ultimately submitted. Each sport committee, per division, selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in 523 total championship event sites awarded. The seven championships not included in the process due to preexisting site arrangements are: Division I baseball, Division I men’s basketball, Division I football, Division I men’s and women’s golf, Division I softball and Division III women’s ice hockey.

For more information on all of the NCAA championship sites awarded, log on to

— ORDA —

Established in 1982, the New York State Olympic Regional Development Authority (ORDA) was created by the State of New York to manage the facilities used during the 1980 Olympic Winter Games at Lake Placid. ORDA operates Whiteface, Belleayre and Gore Mountain ski areas; the Olympic Sports Complex at Mt. Van Hoevenberg; the Olympic speed skating oval, Olympic jumping complex and Olympic arena. As host to international and national championships, the Authority has brought millions of athletes, spectator and participants to the region, resulting in significant economic development.